Absolutely unbelievable (post-editing complex legal documents @ 0,02 EUR/trgt word; rush job)
Thread poster: Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:20
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Sep 3, 2015

Just received this email:

"Dear Linguist,

My name is XXX. I am a project manager at XXX in Amsterdam.

We are in need of a quick and extensive Dutch to English post-editing job of machine translation of an oral pleading.

The court hearing will take place on XXX XXX XXX 20XX. The pleadings will start at XXX GMT. Our Client will have a workable document ready to be sent by email at XXX GMT. We should receive the file after machine tran
... See more
Just received this email:

"Dear Linguist,

My name is XXX. I am a project manager at XXX in Amsterdam.

We are in need of a quick and extensive Dutch to English post-editing job of machine translation of an oral pleading.

The court hearing will take place on XXX XXX XXX 20XX. The pleadings will start at XXX GMT. Our Client will have a workable document ready to be sent by email at XXX GMT. We should receive the file after machine translation around XXX.

We will need a post-edited file by XXX GMT that same Monday.

Please note that our Client estimates the Appellants’ pleading notes will comprise around 50 pages and have a count of approximately 22.500 words. Since the given amount of time is not so big, we are thinking of sending the file to several post-editors, which means that you will receive approximately 12 to 17 pages. We would like to pay 0,02 EUR/target words.

It is a complicated legal case – in short – the civil liability of all parties involved (e.g. shareholders, managers, board etc.) in the bankruptcy of a joint venture in XXX industry.

We would be grateful to receive response from you preferably within one hour, so we can contact another linguist in case of unavailability from your side.

met vriendelijke groet/with kind regards,

XXX
Project Manager"