Alternative to Translation Office 3000?
Thread poster: Brian Jones (X)
Brian Jones (X)
Brian Jones (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:47
French to English
Nov 5, 2009

First, I must say that I did enjoy using version 7 of Translation Office for about two years. I especially liked how it handled project folder structures. Then I switched to Mac. There is no Mac version of this software. In addition, there is a security feature that does not allow this software to run on a virtual PC on the Mac. I've been using MacFreelance for the past two years, and it just doesn't do what I want it to do. Does anyone know of any open-source, online, or Mac software that w... See more
First, I must say that I did enjoy using version 7 of Translation Office for about two years. I especially liked how it handled project folder structures. Then I switched to Mac. There is no Mac version of this software. In addition, there is a security feature that does not allow this software to run on a virtual PC on the Mac. I've been using MacFreelance for the past two years, and it just doesn't do what I want it to do. Does anyone know of any open-source, online, or Mac software that would be similar to Translation Office? Yes, I know that I could use QuickBooks or even the new Proz billing feature, but I really want to integrate billing with the folder structures and management interface provided by TO. Please also keep in mind that I am just a single freelancer. Therefore, I don't need something extravagant or expensive. Thanks!Collapse

Viktoria Gimbe
Viktoria Gimbe  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 15:47
English to French
+ ...
Zoho Apps and other web services Nov 6, 2009

I think you should look into the possibility of using a web service for your invoicing.

Here is a link to some invoicing web services for freelancers: http://www.lifehack.org/articles/money/invoicing-web-20-style-a-quick-guide-to-your-options.html