accented characters corrupted in TM
Thread poster: Robert Morin
Robert Morin
Robert Morin  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 21:30
English to French
Oct 17, 2006

I have been using Trados 5 for several years but in the past few weeks, I've been having problems with corrupted characters (French accented) when I import a txt (from my customer who uses Trados 7) in my own version. In Notepad, I checked the TXT file used for export/import and found the accented characters are OK (not corrupted), and therefore, I cannot explain how they become corrupted after being imported into my TM... Any help will be appreciated, as it is very time-consuming to have to c... See more
I have been using Trados 5 for several years but in the past few weeks, I've been having problems with corrupted characters (French accented) when I import a txt (from my customer who uses Trados 7) in my own version. In Notepad, I checked the TXT file used for export/import and found the accented characters are OK (not corrupted), and therefore, I cannot explain how they become corrupted after being imported into my TM... Any help will be appreciated, as it is very time-consuming to have to correct all these corrupted characters...Collapse

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:30
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
You are very probably using Windows XP Oct 17, 2006

And the Notepad in Windows XP supports Unicode.
Also Trados 7 works with Unicode, unlike Trados 5.
It seems your customer has exported the TM to txt using the option for Trados 7. You could try to ask your customer to export into txt for Trados 3-6. This should solve your problem.

Regards
Jerzy

Robert Morin
Canada
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
I use Windows 2000 Oct 17, 2006

Jerzy Czopik wrote:

And the Notepad in Windows XP supports Unicode.
Also Trados 7 works with Unicode, unlike Trados 5.