Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Completing form W8-BEN: help needed
Thread poster: Camille Frappier
Camille Frappier
Camille Frappier
English to French
Oct 12, 2021

Hi everyone, I just signed in with a company based in the US and they ask me to fill the W8-BEN form. I don't know how to fill the following sections (they are in red so I can't send the form if I don't fill them):

US taxpayer identification number (SSN or ITIN)
Foreign tax identifying number
Reference number(s)

I am a French translator and just got started so I am completely lost. I think the Foreign tax identifying number and the reference number(s) shoul
... See more
Hi everyone, I just signed in with a company based in the US and they ask me to fill the W8-BEN form. I don't know how to fill the following sections (they are in red so I can't send the form if I don't fill them):

Reference number(s)

I am a French translator and just got started so I am completely lost. I think the Foreign tax identifying number and the reference number(s) should be my SIREN number? I don't have a personal tax identifying number because I don't pay taxes yet.

Thanks for your help!
Collapse

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 19:03
Danish to English
+ ...
W-8BEN Oct 12, 2021

Reference number(s)

You should leave them blank unless your client wants you to fill in a reference number. You are not a US taxpayer or resident, as far as I understand. So if the form blocks it, you need them to provide another version or download one yourself at https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw8ben.pdf .

... See more
Reference number(s)

You should leave them blank unless your client wants you to fill in a reference number. You are not a US taxpayer or resident, as far as I understand. So if the form blocks it, you need them to provide another version or download one yourself at https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw8ben.pdf .