Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4] >
Thinking of "denouncing" a colleague (whose work is really bad)
Thread poster: Michail Strijov
Michail Strijov
Michail Strijov  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 19:12
English to German
+ ...
Jan 26, 2022

Dear colleagues,

I’m in a bit of a tricky situation and I was hoping you could give me some advice.

I’ve been working with an agency for a few years, and for the most part I’m really satisfied with their conditions, their rates and, most of all, their commitment to quality.

They do, however, work with one translator I really don’t like. It’s nothing personal, just that every time I get to edit his work, it feels more like doing full-fledged MTPE a
... See more
Dear colleagues,

I’m in a bit of a tricky situation and I was hoping you could give me some advice.

I’ve been working with an agency for a few years, and for the most part I’m really satisfied with their conditions, their rates and, most of all, their commitment to quality.

They do, however, work with one translator I really don’t like. It’s nothing personal, just that every time I get to edit his work, it feels more like doing full-fledged MTPE at editing rates. It often feels like he puts no thought at all into his translations and doesn’t take the time to understand what they’re about, which leads to frequent mistranslations. He also rarely consults the TM, and he barely has any grasp of “advanced” orthography and grammar.

A part of the problem might be that he’s native in English and I edit his translations into German, which is the feeling I often get: someone who doesn’t quite know the language, collocations etc.

In my opinion, it’s part of my job as an editor to support the translator whenever he/she overlooks something, has a bad day, rushes through a job due to poor scheduling or doesn’t know some super-specific rule. That happens to all of us, and that’s what I’m here for.