Thread poster: Deives Collins
Deives Collins
Deives Collins  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:29
Spanish to English
Sep 3, 2021

Hello to all you very helpful people!

I'm a translator who's trying to start out from the very bottom, and I think I have a good start on a lot of things, but today I'm focusing on the important topic of contracts. I am based in the US, and I translate from Latin American Spanish into American English. I'm not super picky about what types of documents I want to translate, but literary translation is probably the best use of my skills and the setting I'll be happiest in.
... See more
Hello to all you very helpful people!

I'm a translator who's trying to start out from the very bottom, and I think I have a good start on a lot of things, but today I'm focusing on the important topic of contracts. I am based in the US, and I translate from Latin American Spanish into American English. I'm not super picky about what types of documents I want to translate, but literary translation is probably the best use of my skills and the setting I'll be happiest in.

I was hitting a wall for a long time even trying to find pro bono or volunteer-based work to establish a work history, but I finally broke through that wall when I started to look in different places. I went to the website Wattpad.com, searched for poems (a specialty of mine) written in Spanish without very many views, and messaged the authors. I had three small pro bono projects within a few days, and it's clear that I could continue this indefinitely for strictly pro bono work. Obviously, if I knew exactly the right steps to take, I'd already be very successful, but I'm thinking from this experience that I will have the most success if I try contacting new clients that are based in Latin America, specifically publishers but maybe independent authors. (Like I said, it doesn't have to be literary, but that seems like the most promising direction for me at the moment.)