Poll: As a freelance translator/interpreter, do you have liability insurance?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Mar 25

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "As a freelance translator/interpreter, do you have liability insurance?".

View the poll results »

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 14:13
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
No Mar 25

I've been working as a translator for over 40 years, and I never had an issue that could be a claim for an insurance policy. I have a good relationship with all my customers and my strategy has been that every time there’s some kind of an issue, I deal with it promptly.

Every time this question is asked, and it has been asked several times, I wonder if anyone has been sued or knows of any cases where a translator was sued. From this you could rightly infer that I do not have prof
... See more
I've been working as a translator for over 40 years, and I never had an issue that could be a claim for an insurance policy. I have a good relationship with all my customers and my strategy has been that every time there’s some kind of an issue, I deal with it promptly.

Every time this question is asked, and it has been asked several times, I wonder if anyone has been sued or knows of any cases where a translator was sued. From this you could rightly infer that I do not have professional liability insurance…
Collapse

Diarmuid Kennan
Lieven Malaise
Christopher Schröder
Gibril Koroma
Anton Konashenok
Philip Lees

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
No Mar 25

Only a lazy, incompetent fool would need insurance.

Translators always seem to overestimate both customers' expectations and their own abilities. To err is human. All translations are flawed. That's life. They'd have to be catastophically and negligently poor to require insurance.